The Genre Series: My Favorite Chick-Lit Books

Hello everyone! To get more of a feel for what I like, I just figured I would start posting my favorite books from different genres and giving a little snapshot of them and what I liked about them (kind of like a mini review). This week I’ll be talking about my favorite Chick Lit Books!

Chick lit is actually one of my favorite genres to read, so this category was pretty difficult to narrow down…but I think I got a good selection.

Pick #1: The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

the princess diaries

Let me just first start off by saying that I absolutely adore Meg Cabot (I actually follow her on twitter). This book is actually probably one of my favorites of all time. I’ve reread it at least four times. Mia is so funny and real. I even enjoyed the movie a lot too! Even though it’s written in a diary form, I think that Mia’s humor and wild spirit give it an edge against other YA diary formatted books. She’s not perfect by any means and I think that makes her easy to relate to. You see Mia grow and begin to love her geeky self. I recommend reading it, even if you have seen the movie, because there are some pretty funny parts that the movie leaves out. It’s short and sweet, and definitely bound to make you smile (or in my case laugh hysterically).

 

Pick #2: 52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody

52 reasons to hate my fatherWhen I saw this book, I immediately thought, Oh boy, another book about some teenage celebrity going through “the real world.” Then I started reading some of the reviews, and I thought that I might as well give it a shot! At first I hated Lexi, the main character, but slowly I began to like her sassy attitude (her whining and complaining is actually quite hilarious). By the end of the book, she had really changed. Lexi has to take on 52 jobs after causing one disaster after another. She meets some different people throughout her jobs and slowly she begins to change. Some parts of it were pretty cheesy, but isn’t all chick lit? It also has to do a lot with the importance of family, which is something I can strongly relate to.

Pick #3: First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky

first comes loveIf you are looking for a short, sweet read, this is one for you! Dylan is so crazy, spirited, and wild that you can’t help but fall in love with her odd quirks. The attraction between her and Gray is one you would not expect, but in the end you are breathless. It’s not your “typical” romance in any way. Both of the characters are believable and pretty hilarious sometimes. Each of them change each other in completely different ways. I ended it wishing it was longer (but do not fear, there is a sequel). Kacvinsky’s writing is so phenomenal, it left me so dreamy! I highly recommend for a quick, spring read (it’s under 300 pages I believe, so you can get through it fast if you are a fast reader like me!).

 

Whew! That’s it for my genre series this week, but next week I’ll post my top three favorite classics!

 

One thought on “The Genre Series: My Favorite Chick-Lit Books

  1. Pingback: A Week In Review! | Bookish Pluviophile

Leave a Reply

