Review: The Archived by Victoria Schwab

the archived


““Because the only way to truly record a person is not in words, not in still frames, but in bone and skin and memory.”


Author: Victoria Schwab

Publisher: Hyperion


Summary (Goodreads)

The dead rest on shelves like books. Each body has a story to tell, a life in pictures only Librarians can read. The dead, called ‘Histories’, rest in the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was, a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often—violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper is dangerous and a constant reminder of those she lost, Da and her little brother. Mac wonders about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. Yet someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself might crumble and fall.


My Thoughts

I have to say that I really enjoyed The Archived! I did not read the description or anything really, so I did not know what to expect!

The beginning was a little slow for me and I sometimes had to force myself to keep going (between her brother’s death, moving, her grandfather, it was just a lot to take in), but once I got into it I began to understand what being a Keeper really was. The plot is original and interesting, and it even gets a little creepy (uh the creepy descriptions of the Narrows?!), but like in a good way. The idea that dead people are shelved is really intriguing. Mackenzie’s narration was believable and appropriate. I liked the majority of the characters. My absolute favorite is Roland, he’s like a complete librarian fighter!

One thing I do have to point out is that the antagonist is pretty easy to figure out (maybe starting towards the middle of the book), I mean it’s not like a bad thing per se, but eh. The pacing was a little off to me, but it did not bother me a whole lot. Sometimes it felt so slow, but other times it felt really rushed.

The bottom line is that The Archived is not your typical sci-fi/paranormal (is that even the right genre?). It is extremely well written with a good balance of humor and mystery.

My Rating: 4 Stars

One thought on “Review: The Archived by Victoria Schwab

  1. Pingback: A Week in Review | Bookish Pluviophile

Leave a Reply

