Review: Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloane

Sorry it’s late!

13538873

“Walking the stacks in a library, dragging your fingers across the spines — it’s hard not to feel the presence of sleeping spirits.”


Author: Robin Sloane

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux


Summary (Goodreads)

The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon away from life as a San Francisco web-design drone and into the aisles of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. But after a few days on the job, Clay discovers that the store is more curious than either its name or its gnomic owner might suggest. The bookstore’s secrets extend far beyond its walls.


My Thoughts

I picked this up from the library at my university after hearing only good things about it, and I can see why! It was a fun, quick read that is sure to please! Coming back from class and between classes I was bound to be holding this book trying to get in one more chapter before having to put it away!

It’s one of my favorite types of books…books about books (also combined with adventure)! Each character brings something new and adds something to the mystery of Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore. I’m wishing that Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore actually existed! I thought it was interesting how they combined the physical paper pages off books with the technology we rely on today, even if it is too contemporary. It’s witty and charming, and I honestly wish there were more books out there like it. It also kinda makes me want to work at Google…

My Rating: 5 Stars 

One thought on “Review: Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloane

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: 4-19-4-26 | Bookish Pluviophile

Leave a Reply

