Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Fantasy/Sci Fi Books

One of my favorite genres! I hope you all enjoy!

1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Harry PotterUh, what is any top fantasy list without Harry Potter?! I grew up with this series and I could gush about it all day. I don’t really think I need to say a lot about the plot, but if you haven’t read the books you NEED to. The movies are awesome, but the real Harry Potter experience is the books. I remember staying up wayyyyyy past my bedtime just to finish them and playing quiddich with my friends. I could go on but I’ll save you the sappy stories! It’s a series I’m not ashamed to keep rereading over and over again!

2. Angelfall by Susan Ee

angelfallRight from the start Angelfall sends you for an action packed ride, you probably won’t be able to put it down. It features an awesome heroine named Penryn. The characters are real and of course filled with wit. It’s dystopian so it’s plot is pretty interesting (and filled with so many plot twists) and the angels featured in it seemed pretty realistic. AND THE EMOTIONAL TENSION UGH. It grew on me slowly, like falling in love (wow that was sappy please ignore me). The imagery can sometimes be a little gruesome, but not in like an overbearing way. PLUS, it’s a series!

3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

daughter of smoke and boneI remember reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone and thinking that the writing was just breathtaking! The way that Taylor created this whole word through her words so beautifully blew me away, it’s pretty talented and I would give anything to be able to write like that! She made the setting of Prague so magical, I mean, I have never been to Prague, but now I kinda want to go. The imagery just makes it come to life. Just marvelous! That opening line also: “Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.”

4. Beastly by Alex Flinn

beastlyIf you are into romances that will make you sob (did you mean Ashley?) look no further! I love re-written fairy tales like this, it kinda reminds me of the show Once Upon a Time, which I’m obsessed with. I didn’t actually expect to like it as much as I did, but I’m glad that I picked it up one day at the library. It’s fantasy fused with a little bit of realism with a dash of humor. I can’t say that the movie is good only because I haven’t seen it but I’ve heard mixed things about it.

5. Fairytales from the Brothers Grimm

brothers grimmI have a super thick copy of some of the Brothers Grimm fairytales that I pick up every once in a while when I’m feeling magical. They are pretty messed up at times, but I think they are heck of a lot more interesting than the Disney versions. Aside from the popular stories, The Brothers Grimm wrote a variety of other stories you have probably never heard of!

6. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

flowers for algernonI find myself going back to this short little tale whenever I need a good cry. I felt a vast array of emotions when reading Flowers for Algernon. It looks at mental disability, perseverance, love, and humanity. In the end, it made me really think about how fortunate I am to have what I have. The diary entries really help you understand Charlie’s level of intelligence at that point in time. As Charlie becomes more and more intelligent after the experiment, the attitudes towards him change, it’s pretty eye opening when it comes to attitudes toward people with mental disabilities.

7. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

lord of the ringsThe Lord of the Rings is a genuine fantastical masterpiece! A top ten fantasy list is incomplete without it. It’s original and creative, plus the movies are the bomb. Frodo’s act of self-sacrafice is incredible and Gandalf’s’ magical lore draws you in. I have yet to see a fantasy novel come even remotely close to what The Lord of the Rings has.

8. Uglies by Scott Westerfield

ugliesWesterfield creates this world that just intrigues you and lures you in for the long haul! I think it kinda plays on today’s perceptions of beauty, an interesting notion. The narrative voice is phenomenal and it flows right with the plot. There are some parts that are downright hilarious and some parts that are pretty terrifying. Even though this world is different, Westerfield strategically parallels it  to our own world. Tally’s character is believable in my opinion, she talks and acts like a typical sixteen year old. She holds together this intriguing narrative.

9. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

chronicles of narniaI remember watching The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe, and then thinking “oh yeah, there are books, maybe I should read those.” My Dad and I really got into them, and they hold a special place in my heart. Both children and adults can find pleasure in this series. The magic will never fade. They hold a deeper meaning that we begin to understand as we get older. I will always quote C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia!

10. Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler

parable of the sowerParable of the Sower is a groundbreaking dystopian novel. It features a strong African American heroine, Lauren, facing change and adaption in her struggle to survive. It focuses on the bonds of a community and her belief “God is Change” is what brings her community together. This apocalyptic world is terrifyingly realistic. Butler warns against the destruction of the environment, as this ultimately leads to the demise of the society in Parable of the Sower.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Fantasy/Sci Fi Books

Leave a Reply

